5 Great Treats at the Farmer’s Market @ St. Stephen’s

My husband and I each have an Opening Day that we revere.  For my husband, baseball’s Opening Day is like a religious event, except that it involves beer and leaves my living room perfumed with the scent of corn chips.  My equivalent is the beginning of farmer’s market season.  I love spending the day outside with all the great people and vendors.  Plus, my preferred opening day does not leave a lingering smell.

Last week, I wrote about some of my favorite treats from the South of the James market.  This week, I want to talk about some of my favorites from the Farmer’s Market at St. Stephen’s.

de Rochonnet delights – Uh, everything!

Yes, a Master of Business Administration is impressive.   But if you really want to impress me, earn the title of Master Chocolatier.  Jeanne-Louise Womble received this distinction in France in 2005 and displays her expertise with her unique chocolate confections.  Normally, I like to list a specific favorite, but it is tough to pick just one with such a great variety of chocolate treats.

To learn more about de Rochonnet delights, visit them at www.derochonnetdelights.com .

Zaydie’s Granola – Walnut Cranberry

Are you ever hungry for a snack, but don’t want to eat junk?  Janice and Shelley Freed have a remedy for you with their delicious, all-natural cranberry and walnut mix.  Not only is it refreshing, this scrumptious treat also reminds me of my favorite Brian Regan joke.

To learn more about Zaydie’s Granola, visit them at  www.zaydiesgranola.com and their Facebook and Twitter sites.

Rostov’s Coffee and Tea – Breakfast Blend

One of the blessings of the St. Stephen’s market is the fact that a hot cup of coffee is waiting for me.  A great way to start your morning is with Rostov’s Breakfast Blend, which coincidentally has the highest caffeine content of all their blends.

To learn more about Rostov’s Coffee and Tea, visit them at www.rostovs.com and their Facebook and Twitter sites.

Big Daddy’s BBQ Restaurant – Pulled Pork

I am constantly amazed by the ability of the pig to provide joy and happiness.  Big Daddy and Elaine keep the goodness coming with their delicious, hand-pulled pork. BONUS:  If you need a change of pace for your pig fix, don’t forget about their hot dogs!

To learn more about Big Daddy’s BBQ Restaurant, visit them at www.bigdaddysbbqn.com and their Facebook site.

Eli’s Greens – Basil

With all the great food I purchase at the market, I only want the best herbs to maximize flavor.  Eli ensures my satisfaction with his fresh basil.  Don’t expect a wilting, delicate flower; Eli’s basil’s robust size is matched only by its wonderful scent.

To learn more about Eli’s Greens, visit them at www.elisgreens.com and their Facebook site.

The Farmers Market at St. Stephen’s is open every Saturday from 8 am – 12 pm
May 1, 2010 – October 30, 2010.

Leave a comment

Filed under Farmer's Markets, RVA

Leave a Reply

